Judith Sephuma headlines Macufe Indoor Jazz Concert

It REALLY goes without saying that wherever great Jazz artists like Judith Sephuma are, there’s always that element of surprise.

And boy did I get suprised… but let me give you the whole story. Paint a picture of that night.

Billed to perform on the night was The Nala Jazz Band, Peter Auret, Paul Hanmer, Gloria Bosman and Judith Sephuma.

Now any event jazz enthusiast knows that with this kind of line-up you’re bound to get an urge to ta your foot lightly unconsciously or even get up and get down like you don’t care.

That what we got. Some of us even more.

The Nala jazz band is somewhat making its mark especially in the Free State, so the crowd knew what to expect. Their set was more for the kind that like to party, up tempo, nostalgic sounds that makes you remember the times you don’t even remember if you know…lol. That’s  bit confusing, I know. That’s the best way I can explain it.

Second artist on stage, Peter Auret. I must be honest, I didn’t know who he was, and I was a bit unsure if I want to hang around to find out if he was any good. But I’m glad I did. He only had a grand piano, double bass and drums on stage, but one would swear you’re listening to a band way bigger than that. It was awesome.

Next artist, Paul Hanmer I sadly missed. So much for looking forward to it.

But I made it back in time for sis Gloria Bosman. The woman with massive talent.

The performance made me realise just how fortunate I’d been just to be there to witness this legendary singer do what she did on that stage with that mic in such an intimate setting. Her performance of Sombawo had something else to it this time, I must try to get her to explain the emotion I picked up. As for Bonga to conclude the set…Ya ne?!

Next, headliner Judith Sephuma, diva, legend, music icon, producer, songwriter…she probably plays too. With a band featuring the likes of Keagan on drums (this boy is BAD NEWS), and the legendary Robert Manase on second keys, you know its about to get real euphoric. One thing about Judith is that she always delivers, performing songs from A cry, A smile, a Dance all the way to her latest offering  Living Testimony or vice versa, nonetheless, there’s no way her performance would have been anything less than stunning. I mean, ITS JUDITH, hellooooo.

Judith is currently on tour, celebrating 10 years in the music industry as a performer. We’ll be covering her Limpopo, Durban and Port Elizabeth shows…watch this space!!!

Until then… its dancing celebrations and laughter…at the 2011 Macufe Festival.

NEXT STOP: Zahara, Thandiswa Mazwai, HHP, Zakes Bantwini, Selaelo Selota, Stimela, Johnny Gill, and Bebe Winans.

MACUFE ROCKS!!!

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Events, Features and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

